⚠ In case you've missed it, we have migrated to our new website, with a brand new forum. For more details about the migration you can read our blog post for website migration. This is an archived forum. ⚠

•     

profile picture

error 404 problem

monia

monia
  • profile picture

Posted 03 September 2013 - 14:14 PM

Hi, I'm very new to codeigniter and grocerycrud, actually I downloaded them and started to play with them yesterday. And ofcourse I have a problem from the very beginnig. I want to make a website with CMS but first I need to learn how everything works. I used example no. 2 - creating the structure of the website from this blog: http://philsturgeon.co.uk/blog/2009/07/Create-an-Admin-panel-with-CodeIgniter

My test website is here: http://madeyoulookdigital.co.uk/newcms/ and it works ok

My CMS is here http://madeyoulookdigital.co.uk/newcms/admin/manage and it shows error 404

As per example from the blog I put grocerycrud files to appropriate folders, manage files are in controllers/admin/manage.php and views/admin/manage.php, I also added routing

$route['admin'] = "admin/manage";

but it still doesn't work. What do I do wrong? I attach a printscreen with the structure of my website.

mnish

mnish
  • profile picture

Posted 03 September 2013 - 17:22 PM

Hello and welcome to the forums monia.

Your problem is related to codeigniter. you can try this-

1. actually you want to remove index.php from url so if i am right then you have to made some changes into your .htaccess file.

2. if you want to create front-end and backend separately then why are you create two folder in controller just add two controller file and set permission in their constructor.

read documentation carefully.

davidoster

davidoster
  • profile picture

Posted 04 September 2013 - 03:15 AM

Hello [member=monia], I think too it is a path issue that needs careful consideration of your .htaccess file settings.