⚠ In case you've missed it, we have migrated to our new website, with a brand new forum. For more details about the migration you can read our blog post for website migration. This is an archived forum. ⚠

•     

profile picture

Query base table and only return results met in n_n_relational table

jpeake

jpeake
  • profile picture

Posted 15 June 2012 - 03:24 AM

First a huge thank you for your work and willingness to share it. Like others I think this is awesome!!! I'm fairly new to Code igniter and Grocery CRUD, so I hope I ask this question in a way that makes sense.

I have a table that stores files and the files are catagorized using a relation_n_n.
The base table is named 'files' where all of the files are stored.
The selection table is name 'category' and has the different categories that files are identified with.
The relation table is name 'file_category' where file_id, category_id, and priority are all stored.

I am trying to create and display a view of a table that shows all of the files that are in a certain category. For example I have 1000 files, 200 of them are marked as 'short stories' I would like to create a CRUD table that displays only the files that are 'short stories', but I am having trouble because my $crud_like looks like this:
$crud->like('category','short stories');
So, of course I get 'unknown column' because the column 'category' only exist in the selection table which is not part of my base table 'files'.

I have been able to get the category column to show up in my files list table by using:
$crud->set_relation_n_n('category', 'file_category', 'category', 'file_id', 'category_id', 'name', 'priority');
Unfortionatly I still can't use $crud->like('category','short stories');

I created a model and tried writing a query to get the data... this query does what I want, but I can't figure out how to implement it in a CRUD list table.